Property Flash


April 22 2024 15:30

The 2nd Annual Residential Investment & Development (Reside) awards which recognise excellence and innovation in the residential property sector are now open, with 13 entry categories to choose from.

Launched in 2023, the awards are the first of their kind in South Africa, acknowledging and celebrating excellence across the residential value chain to share knowledge, collaborate, and do business.

Interest in the awards has seen categories increasing from five in 2023 to 13 to ensure a complete value chain representation of key players in the development and investment space.

Neale Petersen, awards chair, and founder and editor-in-chief of Real Estate Investor (REI) magazine said that the Reside Summit is in its second year in 2024 and is ready for more success.

“The awards are a key component of the annual Reside Summit as they celebrate achievement and foster healthy competition among peers,” said Petersen.

“The increase in the entry categories is testament to the importance of these awards in helping to drive industry standards and set a high benchmark against best global practices in the development of residential projects,” he said.

The awards are a partnership between the Residential Investment & Development (Reside) Summit, South Africa’s first annual property development and investment conference dedicated to residential real estate and Real Estate Investor (REI) magazine.

Reside Chair Debbie Tagg said the Reside Summit was supported by 30 industry bodies including the National Home Builders Registration Council (NHBRC), Social Housing Regulatory Authority (SHRA), Property Sector Charter Council, Property Practitioners Regulatory Authority (PPRA), South African Institute of Architects, SA Reit Association, and the Banking Association of South Africa among others.

“Themed “Transforming Spaces, Enriching Lives”, the Reside Summit is a catalyst for crucial change in South Africa’s residential property landscape. The awards play a significant role in showcasing industry best practices, inspiring peers as well as elevating the reputation of professionals and organisations within the sector,” said Tagg.

New entries include Multifamily Residential Development of the Year (rental only), Lifestyle Luxury Estate of the Year 2024, Lifestyle Estate of the Year 2024, PropTech Innovator of the Year 2024, Contributor of the Year 2024 (movers and shakers), Residential Estate Agency of the Year 2024 and RDP Development of the Year 2024.

In 2023, there were five categories with winners including Balwin Properties for Residential Developer of the Year, Africrest Properties for Affordable Housing Developer of the Year, Own Haven for Social Developer of the Year, Growthpoint Properties for Student Developer of the Year, and Rabie Property Group for Retirement Developer of the Year.

Winners will be announced at the Reside Summer Gala Dinner on July 18 at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg.

An entry fee of R2 500 per entry applies and multiple entries are accepted. Categories have different criteria; however, all projects must demonstrate creativity, sustainability impact and feasibility, according to Tagg.

Entries close on Monday, May 20 2024.

Reside Property Award Categories for 2024 are:

  • RDP Development of the Year
  • Social Housing Development of the Year
  • Affordable Housing Development of the Year
  • Residential Development of the Year
  • Lifestyle Estate of the Year
  • Retirement Village Development of the Year
  • Student Accommodation Development of the Year

Reside New Award Entry Categories for 2024 include:

  • Multifamily Residential Development of the Year
  • Lifestyle Luxury Estate of the Year
  • PropTech Innovator of the Year
  • Contributor of the Year
  • Residential Estate Agency of the Year
  • Residential Property Management Company of the Year

Interested parties can visit for more information. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *